Five 5 Pillars of Islam: Foundations for a Meaningful Existence 

Islam is a religion based on strong pillars. These pillars are the base of the Islamic ideology and the Islamic system. The entire faith circulates around the 5 pillars of Islam. These pillars act as the holding stone for the building of Islam.  

All these pillars are an obligation for every Muslim, without following the practices and having a firm believe in these one can’t be considered a practicing Muslim. 

Who is a Muslim? 

A person who believe in the oneness of Allah Almighty and along with that have a firm believe in Holy Prophet (SAW) as a last prophet sent by Allah.  

What are the five pillars of Islam? 

The Pillars of Islam are the fundamental acts of devotion that form the basis of a Muslim’s beliefs and practice. These pillars help Muslims in their daily life as well as their spiritual path. The five pillars are as follows: 

1. Tauhid or Shahada : A Deep Monotheistic Proclamation   

Tauheed is the first and the basic pillar and believe of Islam. Without having this believe one can’t consider himself to be a true Muslim at all. This is the building stone for the entire building of Islamic ideology.  

It is a sincere acceptance of Allah’s oneness and Muhammad’s prophethood. Exploring Shahada’s spiritual depth reveals the potential for change of this simple yet deep statement. 

As mentioned in the holy book Quran: 

Say, “He is Allah, [who is] One, Allah, the Eternal Refuge. He neither begets nor is born, Nor is there to Him any equivalent.” (Surah Ikhlas). 

2. Namaz or Salat: Symphony of Connection 

Namaz is the second pillar of Islam. After having a firm believe in the Oneness of Allah and Muhammad (SAW) as the last prophet, one should perform the salat which is obligatory action. This brings a Muslim near to his Creator. This contact with Allah Almighty helps,  one to be close to Allah and ask for blessings from Him. This is the necessarity for every Muslim, and an everyday requirement. 

Salat was made obligatory by the last Prophet (SAW) before Hijrat. Namaz is to be offered 5 times a day, which are; 

  • Fajr: Carried out at any time after dawn, but not later than that, once sun rises. 
  • Zuhr : o be offer at the peak of noon. 
  • Asr: To be offer when the day is declining. 
  • Maghrib : To be offered at the time of sun set.  
  • Isha : To be offered at night. 

As the Holy Quran mentions; 

“Surely the Salah at fixed hours (of the day and night) has been enjoined upon the believers.” (Quran 4:103). 

3. Roza or Saum: Ramadan’s Fasting – Purifying the Soul 

Roza or Saum is the third pillar of Islam. This pillar is for the Muslim basically, this helps him to refrain from bad and practice good and have a firm control over himself.  

Saum, the holy month of Ramadan fasting, is more than just giving up food and liquids; it’s a soul-cleansing practice. Examining Saum’s importance and how it affects self-control, empathy, and spiritual development offers a distinctive viewpoint on this yearly purifying trip. 

As the Holy Quran says; 

“O ye who believe! Fasting is prescribed for you, even as it was prescribed for those before you, that ye may ward off (evil); (Fast) a certain number of days; and (for) him who is sick among you, or on a journey, (the same) number of other days; and for those who can afford it there is a ransom: the feeding of a man in need – but whoso doeth good of his own accord, it is better for him: and that ye fast is better for you if ye did but know – The month of Ramadan in which was revealed the Qur’an, a guidance for mankind, and clear proofs of the guidance, and the Criterion (of right and wrong). And whosoever of you is present, let him fast the month, and whosoever of you is sick or on a journey, (let him fast the same) a number of other days. […] It is made lawful for you to go in unto your wives on the night of the fast. […] So hold intercourse with them and seek that which God hath ordained for you, and eat and drink until the white thread becometh distinct to you from the black thread of the dawn. Then strictly observe the fast till nightfall; and touch them not when at devotions in the mosques. These are the limits imposed by God, so approach them not. Thus God expounded His revelation to mankind that they may ward off (evil).” 

— Quran 2:183-187 

4. Zakaat: Threads of Compassion 

Zakat, an act that goes beyond a financial commitment, creates a rich tapestry of shared responsibility and true personal connection in addition to financial support. As we examine the facets of zakat, it becomes clear that its influence goes well beyond financial exchanges and has a profoundly personal effect on people’s lives.  

Giving Zakat involves more than just sending money; it also involves lending a helpful hand and demonstrating empathy and unity. Giving serves as a bridge that unites the donor and the recipient in a common compassionate experience. It is an admission of our shared humanity and the fact that ties of interdependence bind us all together. 

“And establish prayer and give Zakat, and whatever good you put forward for yourselves – you will find it with Allah.” (2:110, Qur’an) 

5. Hajj: Spiritual Renewal Journey 

The Hajj, the holy walk to Mecca, is more than just a physical trip; it is a deep voyage toward spiritual renewal and world peace. Beyond the outward rites is a tapestry of life-changing events, each one connecting pilgrims from all over the world with a thread of equality, devotion to Allah, and international unity. 

As pilgrims embark on the Hajj, they step into a sacred narrative that transcends individual stories. The rituals and symbolism of this spiritual expedition carry deep metaphors, revealing lessons that resonate with the essence of Islam and echo across cultural and geographical boundaries. 

As the Holy Quran says; 
“And proclaim that the people shall observe Hajj pilgrimage. They will come to you walking or riding on various exhausted (means of transportation). They will come from the farthest locations.” [Quran 22:27] 

Are there 4 or 7 Pillars of Islam? 

No, there are fundamentally 5 pillars of Islam. But, Hajj is only applicable upon those who can afford it and can perform Haj. Therefore, sometimes Haj is not quoted while talking about pillars of Islam, which gives an impression that there are 4 pillars of Islam. There are many other fundamentals and basics of Islam but none of them is part of the Pillars. Therefore the myth of 7 pillars of Islam is merely just a myth. 


In conclusion, the Five Pillars of Islam emerge not as mere obligations, but as the vibrant threads intricately woven into the very fabric of a Muslim’s existence. Each Pillar, from the solemnity of Shahada to the communal rhythm of Salat, the compassionate reach of Zakat, the introspective discipline of Roza, to the transformative journey of Hajj, contributes to a holistic tapestry that paints a vivid portrait of faith, discipline, compassion, and spiritual renewal. 

Related Posts